top of page


CIPA ELF sponsors the annual Colorado Independent Publishers Association's EVVY Book Awards, where well-written, beautifully designed books by authors and publishers from Colorado and elsewhere are honored and celebrated.

The CIPA EVVYs, now entering its twenty-ninth year, is one of the longest-running book award competitions on the independent publishing scene. The annual contest is sponsored by the CIPA Education and Literacy Foundation (ELF) and the Colorado Independent Publishers Association (CIPA).

The CIPA EVVYs receive entries from all over the world, including England, Belgium, South Africa, Russia, and Dubai. Averaging more than 200 entries each year in 39 book categories and 8 technical categories, the CIPA EVVYs continue to provide an excellent way for independent authors to gain recognition for their work.


Hardwick 2018.jpg

Brenda Hardwick, author of  Harlem Angel, Merit Award winner in Fantasy, 2018.

Birdsong 2018.jpg

Grady T. Birdsong, Third Place winner in the 2018 History category for To the Sound of the Guns, with host Ward Lucas.

Cates Sullivan 2018.jpg

Any Cates Sullivan, author of  Legends of the Grail, First Place winner in the 2018 Fairytale/Folklore/Mythology category, with Ward Lucas.

Clark 2018.jpg

Sally Clark, author of  Warrior Mama, Merit Award winner in Self-help, 2018.


Bernie Nagy (right) and Linda Nagy (left), multiple 2012 EVVY winners (First Place: Travel; First Place: Cover Design; First Place: Illustrations; Second Place: Layout & Design) for South Park Colorado: Nature’s Paradise. CIPA ELF President Mike Daniels at center.

Dr. James Jackson (far right), author of  The Happiest Man in the World, First Place winner in the 2013 Autobiography/Memoir category, with Dr. AnnaMarie Jackson, Kathi Daniels (far left), and Mike Daniels

Sue Ross Allegrezza, 2013 EVVY winner (1st Place: Illustrations; 2nd Place: Interior Layout & Design; 3rd Place, Cover Design) for Billy Raccoon’s Grand Colorado Adventure.

bottom of page